Ad Infinitum Books

Quick Search

Title
Author
Description
Keyword
Advanced Search
 
 
 
 

UNITED STATES.

UNITED STATES.

Click on Title to view full description

 
1 BACON, JOSEPHINE. The Doubleday Atlas Of The United States Of America.
Doubleday and Company, Inc., New York: 1990. h Hardcover, no dustjacket. Good condition. 
Welcome to the United States of America. Come travel the fifty states for both up-close and bird's-eye views of everything this exciting country has to offer. Full-color maps lead the way, showing important cities, roads, and topography. Full-color photographs offer insight into the more personal details of each place. 
Price: 9.45 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
2 BAILEY, BETH; BRAUNSTEIN, PETER; CAPOZZOLA, CHRISTOPHER; COWIE, JEFFERSON; FARBER, DAVID; BRAEBNER, WILLIAM; MOY, TIMOTHY; PORTER, ERIC; WILLARD, MICHAEL. America In The Seventies.
University Press of Kansas, Lawrence: 2016. CultureAmerica Series. s Softcover. Brand new book. 
Tucked between the activist Sixties and the conservative Eighties lies a largely misunderstood and still under-appreciated decade. Now nine leading scholars of postwar America offer a revealing look at the Seventies and their rightful place in the epic narrative of American history. This is the first major work to relate the economic decline and cultural despair of the Seventies to the creative efforts that would reshape American society. Dogged by economic and political crises at home and foreign policy failures abroad, Americans responded to a growing sense of uncertainty in a variety of ways. Some explored the new freedoms promised by the social change movements of the late Sixties. Some challenged the technological verities that ruled corporate America. Others sought to create autonomous zones in the ruins of decaying cities or on the bleak landscape of anomic suburbia. And, against a backdrop of massive economic dislocation and bicentennial celebrations, many Americans struggled to redefine patriotism and the meaning of the American dream. Focusing on how Americans made sense of their changing world by analyzing such sources as film, popular music, use of public space, advertising campaigns, and patriot rituals, these essays interweave the themes of economic transformation, identity reconfiguration, and cultural uncertainty. The contributors cover such topics as the public's increasing mistrust of government, the reshaping of working-class identity, and the tensions between the ideological and economic origins of changing gender roles. From existential despair in popular culture to the reactions of youth subcultures, these provocative articles plot the lives of Americans struggling to redefine themselves as their nation moved into an uncertain future. Together they recapture the essence and spirit of that era--for those who lived it and for curious readers who have come of age since then and struggle to understand their own time. 
Price: 18.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
3 BARLETT, DONALD L.; STEELE, JAMES B. America: What Went Wrong?
Andrews and McNeel, Kansas City: 1992. 0836270010 / 9780836270013 s Softcover. Very good reading copy. 

Price: 1.00 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
4 BAUDRILLARD, JEAN. America.
Verso, London / NewYork: 1988. 0860912205 / 9780860912200 h Hardcover with dustjacket. Good condition but there is extensive underlining in pencil. 
France's leading philosopher of post-modernism takes to the freeways of the New World. Lyrical, caustic, witty and infuriating, America is a collection of traveller's tales from the land of hyperreality. Translated into English from the French by Chris Turner. 
Price: 33.25 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
5 BEICHMAN, ARNOLD. Nine Lies About America.
Pocket Books, New York: 1973. 0671782924 / 9780671782924 s Softcover. Good condition. 

Price: 6.41 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
6 BENDINER, ROBERT. The Riddle Of The State Department.
Farrar & Rinehart, NY: 1942. First edition. h Hardcover, no dustjacket. Very good reading copy. 
Analyis of the State Department's policies, internal orgnization, personnel and relations with the president. Comes with comprehensive index. 
Price: 34.25 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
7 BOHMBACH, DWIGHT. What's Right With America: 1986, A Handbook For Americans.
Bantam Books, New York: 1986. 0553257110 / 9780553257113 s Softcover. Good condition. 
An inspiring profile of the people, places and promise of this great land of liberty. Includes an Index. 
Price: 3.56 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
8 BOYER, DWIGHT. Great Stories Of The Great Lakes.
Dodd, Mead & Company, New York: 1966. h Hardcover, no dustjacket. Very good condition. 
Here's everything you ever wanted to know about the Great Lakes, and then some. Illustrated with photographs and maps. Includes an Index. 
Price: 4.23 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
9 BROKAW, TOM. The Time Of Our Lives.
Random House, New York: 2011. First Edition. h Hardcover with dustjacket. Very good condition. 
A conversation about America - who we are, where we've been, and where we need to go now, to recapture the American dream. Inviting us to foster a rebirth of family, community, and civic engagement as profound as the one that helped win World War II, built our postwar prosperity, and ushered in the Civil Rights era, Brokaw traces the exciting, unnerving changes in modern life - in values, education, public service, housing, the Internet, and more - that have transformed American society in the decades since the age of thrift in which he was raised. Includes an Index. 
Price: 24.27 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
10 BRUCKBERGER, R. L.; DRUCKER, PETER F. (FOREWORD). Image Of America.
The Viking Press, New York: 1959. First American Edition (Unstated). h Hardcover with dustjacket. Good condition considering its age but dustjacket has some chips missing from it. 
"Either America is the hope of the world, or it is nothing. There are those who have begun to despair of the West. It is for them that I am writing." Thus the author states his intention. The result is a book - in the tradition of Tocqueville and Bryce - in which we see ourselves through the sympathetic, critical eyes of a Frenchman who as Chaplain General of the Resistance has seen the life of action and as scholar, author, and priest knows the life of the spirit. Translated into English from the French by C. G. Paulding and Virgilia Peterson. 
Price: 7.11 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
11 BUNKER, STEVENS DANA (TEXT). Alaska: A Photographic Journey.
Crescent Books, New York: 1990. 0517001780 / 9780517001783 Second Printing. h Hardcover with dustjacket. Good condition. 
When Secretary of State William Seward committed his historic "folly" of purchasing a distant chunk of wasteland from Russia in 1867, the vast majority of United States citizens could have been forgiven for doubting his sanity. Alaska has come a long way since the heady, lawless days that followed, when sourdoughs arrived in droves to seek their fortunes. Not for nothing did the Aleut call this the "Great Land," and Alaska - A Photographic Journey is a celebration of that greatness. 
Price: 23.70 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
12 CALKINS, CARROLL C. (PROJECT EDITOR). America From The Road.
Reader's Digest Association, Inc., New York: 1982. 0895771039 / 9780895771032 h Hardcover, no dustjacket. Good condition. 
This book includes 125 loop trips describe almost 1,500 of the most interesting, beautiful, historic, and scenic places in America. Includes an Index. 
Price: 4.28 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
13 CALKINS, CARROLL C. (PROJECT EDITOR). America From The Road.
Reader's Digest Association, Inc., New York: 1982. 0895771039 / 9780895771032 h Hardcover, no dustjacket. Good condition. 
This book includes 125 loop trips describe almost 1,500 of the most interesting, beautiful, historic, and scenic places in America. Includes an Index. 
Price: 4.28 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
14 CAUBLE, CHRISTOPHER (EDITOR); GRUCHOW, PAUL (INTRODUCTION). Minnesota On My Mind.
Falcon Press, Helena and Billings: 1989. 0937959707 / 9780937959701 America On My Mind Series. h Hardcover with dustjacket in protective mylar cover. Good condition. 
Here is a book for every who loves Minnesota. Here are photographs to delight the eye and lift the heart along with selected quotations from notable Minnesotans and others who love the state - Sinclair Lewis, Sigurd F. Olson, Frederick Manfred, Carol Bly, John Szarkowski, and many others. 
Price: 35.15 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
15 CLAGETT, JOHN. These Hallowed Grounds.
Hawthorn Books, New York: 1968. First Edition. h Hardcover with dustjacket in protective mylar cover. Reading copy. Ex Library with usual stamping and labels. 
The American battle parks and monuments are important landmarks in American history. They are described here and much more is added. Includes an Index. 
Price: 23.75 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
16 CONLEY, PATRICK T.; CAMPBELL, PAUL. Providence: A Pictorial History.
Donning Company, Norfolk: 1982. 089865128X / 9780898651287 h Hardcover with dustjacket. Good condition. 

Price: 54.15 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
17 COOK, SAMANTHA; PERRY, TIM & WARD, GREG. Estados Unidos.
Sin Fronteras, Barcelona: 2001. 8466602518 / 9788466602518 1.a edicion. s Softcover. Good condition. 
Un recorrido por todo Estados Unidos, de la Costa Este a la Costa Oerste, desde grandes metropolis como Nueva York o Chicagi hasta parques naturales como Yellowstone, el Gran Canon o los volcanes de Hawai. Para disfrutar de paisaje, la cultura, la musica, la arquitectura o los espectaculos. 80 mapas y plans detallados, junto con la mejor seleccion de medios de transporte, alojamiento, restaurantes, espectaculos y compras. Inclye unpliego en color con fotografias de los lugares mas atractivos. 
Price: 23.99 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
18 COOKE, ALISTAIR. Alistair Cooke's America.
Alfred A. Knopf, New York: 1973. 0394487265 / 9780394487267 h Hardcover with dustjacket. Good condition. Dustjacket is worn and torn. 
Takes the story of the USA from before its discovery by Columbus up to the present day. The book is lavishly illustrated in color and black-and-white, with paintings, photographs and drawings which supplement the story. Includes an Index. 
Price: 8.79 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
19 D'SOUZA, DINISH. What's So Great About America.
Regnery Publishing, Washington: 2001. 0895261537 / 9780895261533 Second Printing. h Hardcover with dustjacket. Very good condition. 
America is under attack as never before - not only from terrorists, but from people who provide a rationale for for terrorism. Islamic intellectuals declare America the "Great Satan." Europeans rail against American g"globalism" as embodied by McDonald's. D'Souza takes on all of America's critics and proves them wrong - as perhaps only a writer with an immigrant's understanding of this country can. Includes an Index. "This book is convincing, eye-opening, and ultimately uplifting. Buy it, and consider yourself lucky." - Ben Stein, TV host of Win Ben Stein's Money 
Price: 9.22 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
 
20 DE SEVERSKY, ALEXANDER P. America: Too Young To Die.
McGraw-Hill Book Company, New York: 1961. h Hardcover, no dustjacket. Good condition. 

Price: 9.50 USD
Add to Shopping Cart
 
  1  2 3 4  NEXT >  


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to [email protected]
Copyright©2020. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie